Turbo Brake Upgrade – The Journey Begins…

Posted: June 1, 2009 in DIY, Upgrades

Hi all,

So this past weekend I started on my project, and let me make it clear that I am in no rush here as there is no documented DIY on this so I need to make sure everything is done 100% correct.  This means much research and talking to as many people as I can on the subject.  Finding someone that has done this themselves before, or works for a custom shop and has done this, is very rare.

Okay, so obviously I am going to start with the front as the wheel carriers are the big unknown in this project.  I’ve found a few people that have had this done and they 996 TT wheel carriers were installed, so its possible.

Few things I’ve ran into so far:

  1. The strut mount on the 996TT I.D. is 2.165″ and on the C2 it is 2.040.  A difference of 0.125″ or 1/8″ – This will require a sleeve to be made from brass in 1/16″ or 16ga.  I’ve seen other coil over companies sell sleeves for their TT versions, so its a valid solution.
  2. Due to TT being AWD, the mount is also very off-center from the upper body mount and the lower control arm pivot.  See picture below. – This will require that I install the camber plates from stock 996 TT

Everything else bolts up just fine so far in my test fitting.  I’m only going to do one side until I figure it out 100% before doing the other so I have a reference point.  I’ve included a couple pictures here as you can then see how dramatic a difference there will be in your strut positioning.

Also, when the wheel carrier now turns, you will see the lower part of the strut move in and out due to the off set of the strut mount in the TT wheel carrier.  It makes total sense look at it, but in seeing only C2’s it seems very odd as it doesn’t do that on the other side.  I’m verifying this behaviour by looking at a local club member’s TT and also with a few Porsche mecahnics just to make sure.

Passenger Side – During Test Fitting

IMG_5783

IMG_5784

Driver’s Side – Still Stock Configuration

IMG_5785

IMG_5786

Cheers
Aaron

Comments
  1. emeraldapple says:

    To follow up on the shims, they are 16ga brass and will be approx. 6 1/4″ long by 2 3/4″ high and rolled on a diameter of about 2.030″

Leave a comment